Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums


Forums supporting
reViSiT (http://revisit.info)
and MIVI (http://mivi.nashnet.co.uk)
nashNET Forums ->  reViSiT - Tracking Software for VST hosts -> Getting Started -> View Thread

You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

How to make IT file to play original tempo?
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   reViSiT - Tracking Software for VST hosts -> Getting StartedMessage format
 
Shankara
Posted 2007-08-02 9:33 PM (#13995)
Subject: How to make IT file to play original tempo?


Hi
i loaded an old IT file of mine in revisit in cubaseSX3 host,
but the bpm it plays is alot lower thene the original
help ! what sould i do ??
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
CS_TBL
Posted 2007-08-02 10:33 PM (#13996 - in reply to #13995)
Subject: Re: How to make IT file to play original tempo?



Expert

Posts: 512
500
Location: Netherlands
Change the tempo in cubase itself.. (ctrl-t in cubase, if you didn't change that)

cubase = tempo, revisit = notes. So tempo changes during the song are also to be done in that tempo editor of cubase.
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Shankara
Posted 2007-08-03 7:42 AM (#13997 - in reply to #13995)
Subject: RE: How to make IT file to play original tempo?


inside the revisit it still plays it slow
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
chrisnash
Posted 2007-08-03 11:51 AM (#13998 - in reply to #13997)
Subject: RE: How to make IT file to play original tempo?



Developer

Posts: 746
50010010025
Location: England
Shankara,

In Impulse Tracker, there were two ways of controlling playback speed: tempo (Txx) and rate (Axx). Since VST Host's only have Tempo control, this is all that reViSiT can have. It is confusing to have two different controls affecting the same thing in different ways - effectively, the Axx command in Impulse Tracker also affected the "tempo", but not in a particularly intuitive way. Instead, reViSiT's Axx command just changes resolution (the number of frames per row), but does not affect the playback speed - this makes sure that pitch slides, etc. from Impulse Tracker still sound the same in reViSiT.

What you'll have to do, is play around with the tempo in the host, in order to account for the effect of the Axx command that you used in Impulse Tracker. For example, if you used A03 (rather than the default A06), you'll probably need to double the tempo in the host.

'Hope this helps,
Chris

Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
CS_TBL
Posted 2007-08-03 1:19 PM (#13999 - in reply to #13998)
Subject: Re: How to make IT file to play original tempo?



Expert

Posts: 512
500
Location: Netherlands
Note that I'm using IT2 with exactly that odd Axx method of speeds to make music for my MSX. Since that uses a 50hz or 60hz video processor interrupt/clock for generic updates (including music speed). It's a reason why I can't get rid of IT2 for as long as I need that trick. I never really used the Axx for normal music, realizing that at A06 the Tempo would represent real BPM values, but for these int-based tunes it's ideal, just lock the Tempo to 126 orso, and off you go using the Axx!
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Shankara
Posted 2007-08-03 7:16 PM (#14002 - in reply to #13995)
Subject: RE: How to make IT file to play original tempo?


Thanks a bunch guys !
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

(Delete all cookies set by this site)