Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums


Forums supporting
reViSiT (http://revisit.info)
and MIVI (http://mivi.nashnet.co.uk)
nashNET Forums ->  reViSiT - Tracking Software for VST hosts -> Help & Support -> View Thread

You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

How do you record pattern data into midi?
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   reViSiT - Tracking Software for VST hosts -> Help & SupportMessage format
 
Sparky
Posted 2008-08-29 10:49 AM (#14344)
Subject: How do you record pattern data into midi?


Member

Posts: 5

Is it not possible (yet) to get Revisit to:
a) play a pattern when Play is pressed on the VST host (ie. Cubase)
b) export the pattern data back to midi data on the Cubase track so that Cubase can play it with all other midi data and audo tracks?

Thanks
Sparky
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
CS_TBL
Posted 2008-08-29 10:56 AM (#14345 - in reply to #14344)
Subject: Re: How do you record pattern data into midi?



Expert

Posts: 512
500
Location: Netherlands
a) only when this pattern is in the pattern orderlist
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
chrisnash
Posted 2008-08-29 12:44 PM (#14346 - in reply to #14344)
Subject: RE: How do you record pattern data into midi?



Developer

Posts: 746
50010010025
Location: England
Hi Sparky,

Welcome to the forum! As CS_TBL said, you need to define an Order List (F11) before reViSiT knows how to sync. your tracker song with the host - it's just a sequence of pattern numbers.

The VST spec. doesn't offer a direct way of exporting the pattern data back to the host, but you can bounce it down, by having your reViSiT instruments output MIDI, then just recording that MIDI in the host.

'Hope this helps!

Chris
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Sparky
Posted 2008-08-29 9:36 PM (#14348 - in reply to #14346)
Subject: Re: How do you record pattern data into midi?


Member

Posts: 5

Thanks Chris and CS_TBL - thats great. Play in Cubase works, and better still - Record in Cubase works! Wow! Now what am I going to do next I wonder.. export my Renoise files. Hehe. This is an awesome step forward, Chris. I wish (and hope) the Renoise guys take a leaf out of your book. I love the program but there are reasons why we pay as much for Cubase I guess. Keep up the good work - I hope you find time to keep working on this project. You've got me wondering now I should go ahead and get a dual monitor system - I think revisit would work quite nicely sitting on its own monitor with Cubase on the other monitor.
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
chrisnash
Posted 2008-08-29 10:57 PM (#14349 - in reply to #14348)
Subject: Re: How do you record pattern data into midi?



Developer

Posts: 746
50010010025
Location: England

See reViSiT v0.87.3 Alpha (01/12/05) in Screenshots:

http://www.nashnet.co.uk/english/revisit/screenshots.htm

Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
CS_TBL
Posted 2008-08-30 8:42 PM (#14350 - in reply to #14349)
Subject: Re: How do you record pattern data into midi?



Expert

Posts: 512
500
Location: Netherlands
I'm using 2 22" screens here for a cozy 3360x1050 desktop. After coming from a 1280x1024 screen this new space is a breath of fresh air. With the right font I'm having a 64-row pattern fully on screen. Usually I'm having revisit fully on my right screen and the rest of cubase (mixer, VSTi, tempo-track etc.) on the left screen. Works great!
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

(Delete all cookies set by this site)