Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums


Forums supporting
reViSiT (http://revisit.info)
and MIVI (http://mivi.nashnet.co.uk)
nashNET Forums ->  reViSiT - Tracking Software for VST hosts -> Getting Started -> View Thread

You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

yet another tempo-related question...
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   reViSiT - Tracking Software for VST hosts -> Getting StartedMessage format
 
akeren
Posted 2010-02-03 4:37 AM (#15048)
Subject: yet another tempo-related question...


New user

Posts: 4

Location: Israel
First of all, I have to say I majorly appreciate this project and its continued development! I am back with reViSiT after a couple years of not having touched it - the old version I was testing had some problems with my host of choice (Sonar), but I just downloaded v1.3.2 and everything works like a charm... keyboard is flawless, and no crashes anymore. Great work Chris!

To my question: After playing a bit with the program, testing a few .IT files, and looking around on the forums - I get the basic idea regarding tempo (i.e.. the host rules all).

This does make sense when playing the full composition from the host, with reViSiT playing alongside all my other tracks. But how about just playing one pattern (F6) or even the full song (F5) from reViSiT itself, to see how it sounds at a particular tempo, or with tempo changes? Is there any way to set an "internal" reViSiT tempo for this purpose (which the host itself would just ignore when playing the full project)?

Currently I find that whenever I want to play a pattern at a particular tempo, I need to go back to beginning of the song's timeline (in the host) to change the project's default BPM (the current tempo at any other point doesn't seem to matter).... and if I want tempo changes throughout the pattern itself - well, I can't hear that without actually going and applying them from the host.

This isn't a major complaint or anything like that... I simply find it much easier to do most of my work within the tracker, so having to do all of this is just kind of cumbersome. Then again, I'm only starting out all over again, maybe this is just 'birth pangs' so to speak....
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
chrisnash
Posted 2010-02-03 5:56 PM (#15049 - in reply to #15048)
Subject: RE: yet another tempo-related question...



Developer

Posts: 746
50010010025
Location: England
Hi akeren,

Welcome back!

As you've correctly surmised, reViSiT gets all its tempo info from the host, so the ease of trying out new tempos in reViSiT is tantamount to doing the same in the host, and some hosts are better than others - Cubase lets you change the tempo using the transport bar, and allows you to toggle between a single tempo or using a more complicated tempo track. Saying that, demoing tempo changes is still a little cumbersome.

There are no plans at the moment to have independent tempo features in reViSiT, largely because of the added-confusion it could cause. However, reMASTER, a side project I'll be working on this summer (to create a dedicated host just for reViSiT - i.e. creating a standalone option) will encourage me to think more on the subject (tempo will need to be controlled somehow!). Similarly, I'm going to be investigating the possibility of reViSiT sending MIDI timecode, so that it might drive the host, which will require similar considerations.

'Hope this helps,
Chris
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
akeren
Posted 2010-02-03 8:36 PM (#15050 - in reply to #15049)
Subject: RE: yet another tempo-related question...


New user

Posts: 4

Location: Israel
Hi Chris,

There are no plans at the moment to have independent tempo features in reViSiT, largely because of the added-confusion it could cause. However, reMASTER, a side project I'll be working on this summer (to create a dedicated host just for reViSiT - i.e. creating a standalone option) will encourage me to think more on the subject (tempo will need to be controlled somehow!). Similarly, I'm going to be investigating the possibility of reViSiT sending MIDI timecode, so that it might drive the host, which will require similar considerations.


Thanks for your reply! The possibility of reViSiT driving the host sounds like a very desirable feature - in many ways this would enable the same workflow and convenience as doing things with Impulse Tracker. A standalone version would also be cool (I can definitely see it directly competing with things like Renoise).
: )
Hope these features do wind up in reViSiT someday. In the meanwhile I guess I could get the hang of it, even try out different hosts and see what's most convenient. (Actually, I wonder which hosts offer the nicest/most convenient interfaces, especially from the standpoint of musicians who "grew up" with trackers - but that's probably a topic for a different thread...)

Cheers,
AK

Edited by akeren 2010-02-03 8:39 PM
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

(Delete all cookies set by this site)