Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums


Forums supporting
reViSiT (http://revisit.info)
and MIVI (http://mivi.nashnet.co.uk)
nashNET Forums ->  reViSiT - Tracking Software for VST hosts -> Testing & Development -> View Thread

You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Syncing to start/stop and position
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   reViSiT - Tracking Software for VST hosts -> Testing & DevelopmentMessage format
 
elfani
Posted 2004-11-03 10:59 PM (#13429)
Subject: Syncing to start/stop and position


Member

Posts: 15

Location: Sweden
I've just tried 0.85a5, and it looks great . Great support for EnergyXT, as well. Well done !
I have a question about syncing to the vst host though: As it is now, reViSiT syncs to the host tempo just great. But is there any way of syncing to start/stop of the host sequencer? Or selected position in the sequencer, so that I move the cursor to a position in the host sequencer, reViSiT follows to the corresponding position? I don't know if EnergyXT doesn't send this information to reViSiT, or if reViSiT cannot sync to these things yet. It would be great to have this integration between the host and reViSiT since it's pretty tedious to press start/stop on two/more places at the same time. It would be better if reViSiT just followed the host .

Best regards,
Tomas


Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
rpc9943
Posted 2004-11-04 6:18 AM (#13430 - in reply to #13429)
Subject: Syncing to start/stop and position


Regular

Posts: 62
2525
Location: United States
did you try making an order list?

RonC
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
elfani
Posted 2004-11-04 10:02 AM (#13431 - in reply to #13430)
Subject: Syncing to start/stop and position


Member

Posts: 15

Location: Sweden

I keep forgetting that. I'll try that when I get home.

Thanks!

//Tomas


Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
chrisnash
Posted 2004-11-04 12:06 PM (#13432 - in reply to #13431)
Subject: Syncing to start/stop and position



Developer

Posts: 746
50010010025
Location: England

I thought with 0.85.5, I had included a feature that flags the absence of order list entries. I.e. it should come up with a message like "Can't playback song: no entries in order list" (or similar)?

All the best,
Chris


Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
rpc9943
Posted 2004-11-04 1:30 PM (#13433 - in reply to #13432)
Subject: Syncing to start/stop and position


Regular

Posts: 62
2525
Location: United States
Chris,

Yes at least on my end, I noticed it and it was a helpful reminder!

RonC
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
elfani
Posted 2004-11-05 11:34 PM (#13434 - in reply to #13433)
Subject: Syncing to start/stop and position


Member

Posts: 15

Location: Sweden
Finally, I got around to test it. It plays and everything, but it isn't really perfect:

[when I talk about the "sequencer", I of course mean the sequencer in EnergyXT]

- reViSiT only syncs to sequencer position when the sequencer is stopped and then started again (or when a loop point is reached and the sequencer jumps back to the loop start position).
- It doesn't sync to stop, it does however sync to start . If the sequencer is stopped, reViSiT will stop as soon as it has finished the current pattern.

So I would say you're half way there . It syncs to tempo, start and half of the times to position (when sequencer is started, not stopped). And this time I've set a pattern in the order list .

I don't think this is entirely EnergyXT's fault, since Sonicbytes ERA syncs perfectly to EnergyXT.

Thanks a lot !

//Tomas

Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
chrisnash
Posted 2004-11-07 12:13 PM (#13435 - in reply to #13434)
Subject: Syncing to start/stop and position



Developer

Posts: 746
50010010025
Location: England

Thanks for the feedback, Tomas.

reViSiT currently gets its song position from the host's sample position. Sadly, the sample position that energyXT sends the plug-in is not valid during the times you mention - essentially, it is continually counting up, even when the sequencer is stopped. There is another method of getting song position: ppQ (essentially MIDI) position, which works fine in energyXT.

Unfortunately, some hosts don't bother to support this, thinking that sample position is a than more generous provision. The next version of reViSiT, v0.86, will default to ppQ position when it is valid, and otherwise will use resort sample position (and pray that it's accurate!). Any case, energyXT's sync problems are solved in v0.86.

All the best,
Chris

 


Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
elfani
Posted 2004-11-07 2:49 PM (#13436 - in reply to #13435)
Subject: Syncing to start/stop and position


Member

Posts: 15

Location: Sweden
Sounds good! Thanks for the info !

//Tomas


Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
rpc9943
Posted 2004-11-08 12:08 AM (#13437 - in reply to #13436)
Subject: Syncing to start/stop and position


Regular

Posts: 62
2525
Location: United States
Mmmm all this talk of the next build is giving me goosebumps and making me antsy!

RonC
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

(Delete all cookies set by this site)