Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums


Forums supporting
reViSiT (http://revisit.info)
and MIVI (http://mivi.nashnet.co.uk)
nashNET Forums ->  reViSiT - Tracking Software for VST hosts -> Getting Started -> View Thread

You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

reViSiT help not working (it seems)
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   reViSiT - Tracking Software for VST hosts -> Getting StartedMessage format
 
mpalmer28
Posted 2010-01-25 9:55 PM (#15025)
Subject: reViSiT help not working (it seems)



Member

Posts: 7

Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Hi. Because I've just discovered this package, I'm assuming this is a problem on my side so I did not submit this as a bug.

When I add reViSiT as an instrument and open the pattern edit screen, I'm offered help at the base of the window (which I sorely need). However, when I click on any of the help icons (or press F1 or Shift-F1), nothing happens. Nothing is opened in my browser either.

Has anyone else have this problem. Perhaps the help files haven't been written yet?

FYI...

I am using a Toshiba Satellite with Windows 7
I use FL Studio as my music software.

Thanks

Matt

EDIT: Also, I'm using vers 1.3.1 Pro

Edited by mpalmer28 2010-01-25 9:56 PM
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
chrisnash
Posted 2010-01-25 10:41 PM (#15026 - in reply to #15025)
Subject: RE: reViSiT help not working (it seems)



Developer

Posts: 746
50010010025
Location: England
Hi Matt,

Sorry to hear of your troubles. I've just checked on XP 32-bit, and the help seems to be working fine. Perhaps this is something to do with Windows 7? Are you running 64-bit?

When reViSiT is running, you can try going to your vstplugins folder and looking for a reViSiT.chm file. This is an HtmlHelp file, which is the standard Microsoft format for help in XP, Vista and 7. Double clicking it should open the file. Let me know if you find it, and can run it.

We'll get to the bottom of this!

Chris
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
mpalmer28
Posted 2010-01-25 11:12 PM (#15027 - in reply to #15025)
Subject: Re: reViSiT help not working (it seems)



Member

Posts: 7

Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Hello there. Thanks for answering so quick. No troubles at all...

I couldn't find reViSiT.chm in my vst folder. I did a search on the whole hard drive (I only have one). I turned up a blank.

BTW, I run Windows 7 on 64 bit...

I am really looking forward to using this VSTi. So much easier to do drums

Thanks

Matt
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
mpalmer28
Posted 2010-01-29 11:36 AM (#15030 - in reply to #15025)
Subject: Re: reViSiT help not working (it seems)



Member

Posts: 7

Location: Adelaide, South Australia
I should add that I tried a reinstall. Also I looked in the zip file for download and it wasn't present. Is there somewhere else on the site where I can get it? Thanks.

M
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
chrisnash
Posted 2010-01-29 5:02 PM (#15032 - in reply to #15030)
Subject: Re: reViSiT help not working (it seems)



Developer

Posts: 746
50010010025
Location: England
Hi Matt,

reViSiT extracts the help file from the .dll, when needed, and it seems this is what's going wrong on 7/64-bit. I've uploaded the current help file to:

http://www.nashnet.co.uk/files/reViSiT.chm

And I'll look into having the normal method sorted for the next release.

'Best of luck,

Chris
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
mpalmer28
Posted 2010-01-31 2:08 AM (#15041 - in reply to #15025)
Subject: Re: reViSiT help not working (it seems)



Member

Posts: 7

Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Works great. Thanks.

M
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
chrisnash
Posted 2010-02-02 6:12 PM (#15045 - in reply to #15041)
Subject: Re: reViSiT help not working (it seems)



Developer

Posts: 746
50010010025
Location: England

Hi Matt,

I've just tested reViSiT with Windows 7 64-bit, and the help worked perfectly, so I've no idea what's wrong.

One question: does the font in the pattern look like the reViSiT font? For example:

http://www.nashnet.co.uk/english/revisit/revisit09011.jpg
or http://www.nashnet.co.uk/english/revisit/revisit12001.jpg

Or just a standard Windows font? For example:

http://www.nashnet.co.uk/english/revisit/revisit08951.gif

Both the font file and the help file are extracted in the same manner, so you might not have the font either.

Cheers,
Chris

Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
mpalmer28
Posted 2010-02-04 4:19 AM (#15051 - in reply to #15025)
Subject: Re: reViSiT help not working (it seems)



Member

Posts: 7

Location: Adelaide, South Australia
You're quite right. I have the standard Windows font instead of the ones you just showed me.

Hmmm... Hope that helps.

M
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
mpalmer28
Posted 2010-02-04 2:31 PM (#15052 - in reply to #15025)
Subject: Re: reViSiT help not working (it seems)



Member

Posts: 7

Location: Adelaide, South Australia
AHA.

I went into the X86 Program Files folder and looked at the attributes for the vst folder and found (lo and behold) it was set to read only. I'm not sure why this was the case, but perhaps it has something to do with FL Studio since I'm assuming it is the program which created to folder in the first place.

Anyway, everything seems to be working fine. Now I can get to it in earnest.

M
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
chrisnash
Posted 2010-02-12 6:27 PM (#15063 - in reply to #15052)
Subject: Re: reViSiT help not working (it seems)



Developer

Posts: 746
50010010025
Location: England
Thanks for that information. I traced the problem to UAC (User Access Control) in Vista/7, which prevents applications that aren't running with Administrator privileges writing anything to the Program Files directory.

With the new release (1.3.3), I now include these two files in the initial setup program, rather than rely on reViSiT extracting them later. It means a bigger download, but I guess that's the price of Vista/7 support. Also, because of the more complicated install process, I'm no longer distributing the zip archive version - though people should be able to open the .exe in any program that supports WinRAR compression.

Best,
Chris
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

(Delete all cookies set by this site)