Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums


Forums supporting
reViSiT (http://revisit.info)
and MIVI (http://mivi.nashnet.co.uk)
nashNET Forums ->  reViSiT - Tracking Software for VST hosts -> Help & Support -> View Thread

You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

howto get revisit pro 1.4 to send midiout to outboard gear?
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   reViSiT - Tracking Software for VST hosts -> Help & SupportMessage format
 
lackluster
Posted 2010-09-04 9:58 PM (#15132)
Subject: howto get revisit pro 1.4 to send midiout to outboard gear?


Regular

Posts: 50
2525
Location: helsinki
hi, how would i set revisit pro 1.4 running inside logic5.5.1 to send midiout directly to my rme hammerfall midi ports and thus be able to control outboard gear via revisit??

Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
chrisnash
Posted 2010-09-05 2:16 PM (#15143 - in reply to #15132)
Subject: RE: howto get revisit pro 1.4 to send midiout to outboard gear?



Developer

Posts: 746
50010010025
Location: England
Well, not sure if Logic supports VST MIDI specifically, but you should be able to send direct to the appropriate MIDI driver, using the Output Device drop list in the MIDI Input/Output area of the Pitch/MIDI tab, in the Instrument List. Make sure you Toggle the "Out" button, of course. This is all covered in the help file.

If you don't have any luck, it might be that Logic has locked the devices for its own use - which it really shouldn't be doing. There might be an option in Logic to change this, but otherwise your only option is to get a better host (sorry - but blame Apple).

Hopefully, it won't be long before I'll be able to offer one (reMASTER), but it won't be a full DAW/sequencer.
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
lackluster
Posted 2010-09-06 11:18 AM (#15145 - in reply to #15132)
Subject: Re: howto get revisit pro 1.4 to send midiout to outboard gear?


Regular

Posts: 50
2525
Location: helsinki
im gonna try and use a midiport that logic doesnt already use, and see what happens. i hope it'll help. i do remember using revisit with outboard gear, so im wondering what changed.
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
lackluster
Posted 2010-09-18 10:07 PM (#15155 - in reply to #15132)
Subject: Re: howto get revisit pro 1.4 to send midiout to outboard gear?


Regular

Posts: 50
2525
Location: helsinki
im beginning to wonder if maybe, just maybe this is a case of both logic5.5.1 and its environment hogging midichannels, and revisit trying to get-in.. 2004-2005 are really hazy for me so im not really sure if i had to create a new logic5.5.1 template without any midichannel-ports, in order to get revisit to send midinote, or if i had to get rid of ASIO drivers and get to directx stuff, but i do remember getting it to work and it def worked quite nicely. im really confused..
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
chrisnash
Posted 2010-09-19 1:48 PM (#15157 - in reply to #15155)
Subject: Re: howto get revisit pro 1.4 to send midiout to outboard gear?



Developer

Posts: 746
50010010025
Location: England
One of the old sequencers - I can't remember if it was Logic or Cubase - used to have two modes for its MIDI hardware. Something like Exclusive or MME or DirectSound - and one of them tied up the devices for everyone else. There might be an option hidden in the interface, but you might have to tweak configuration files.

Sorry I can't be further assistance - it's a long time since I've had to deal with Logic.
Bookmark and Share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

(Delete all cookies set by this site)